Peover Hall, Gardens & Park
Probably the most important collection of buildings are those on the Peover Estate. The Hall is an Elizabethan house and a rare gem that boasts a fascinating history and is still used today as a family home. For information on visiting the hall click here.
The hall’s rich history stems back to 1585 when it was built by Sir Randle Mainwaring. A new wing was added by the fourth baronet Sir Henry in the 1760s before the Peels bought the hall and estate in 1919, which was then acquired by the Brooks family some 20 years later.
During World War II the house was requisitioned as the HQ for General George Patton of the United States 3rd Army to train for the D-Day landings in 1944. It also housed a POW camp. The condition of the house had deteriorated badly – partly as a result of a fire started by a US soldier – the Brooks family undertook a major programme of restoration and have lived at the hall ever since.
The house boasts splendid oak panelling, a long gallery and has been furnished using contents with a historic connection to Peover and the Mainwarings. The beautiful gardens at Peover Hall have a classical feeling, containing a 500 year-old oak tree and an avenue of pleached lime trees.
Built in 1654 the Grade 1 listed stables are the finest of their kind and were a gift from Ellen Mainwaring to her son Thomas, who became baronet in 1660. Their horses were splendidly housed among carved Tuscan columns and arches, and an elegant strapwork plaster ceiling. The chapel in nearby St Lawrence’s Church has monuments to Ellen and her husband Philip Mainwaring.